There are certain circumstances that come up that may require one to take medical leave from their job in Minnesota. Fortunately, the state provides guidelines for employers to ensure that employees can take that leave when necessary. Employees can benefit from understanding these laws, so they are able to take advantage of these benefits when a child is brought into the family or there is a serious health concern.
How the law protects employees
The state of Minnesota has the Pregnancy and Parental Leave Act, which in addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, protects employees from losing their job when a medical need arises. Parents who work under specific conditions have the right to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave within 12 months of a child’s birth or adoption.
Once an employee returns from pregnancy or parental leave, he or she is entitled to work at the same position or one with similar hours, pay and duties. An employer may not retaliate against an employee for asking for, or taking, leave. The employer is also required to continue any employer-provided health insurance, although in some cases the employee may be required to pay for it.
Employees have rights when laws aren’t followed
The state of Minnesota implemented laws for parental and pregnancy leave to protect parents when they need time off from work after a child is born or adopted. Employers must follow these laws or face legal repercussions. Employees who feel that they were not allowed leave from work based on the state’s guidelines have the right to seek legal guidance from an attorney that has knowledge of employment laws.