Consequences for Violating Your DWI Work Permit / Limited License in Minnesota

On Behalf of | Apr 18, 2023 | Criminal Defense

Minnesota takes all DWI incidents very seriously, and if convicted, you will need to face the consequences for it. However, the state also recognizes that the ability to drive is crucial for the livelihood of many who do not otherwise have reliable access to alternative transportation or mass transit systems. This is why a portion of those who receive DWIs in Minnesota may have options available to them in order to get a limited license, also known as a work permit license.

Who Can Get a Limited License / Work Permit?

If you have been convicted of a DWI in Minnesota, there may be a chance that you can still receive a limited license so that you can still get to the places that you need to go, such as to work or the grocery store in order to get food.

However, not everyone will qualify for a limited license. You can only receive one if:

  • It was your first DWI offense and have no prior alcohol charges on your record
  • Your blood alcohol content at the time of your arrest was below the legal limit (below .16)
  • You did not refuse to a blood, urine, or breath test. You still retain the right to refuse a breath test administered at the traffic stop, but not after the arrest has been made.

However, even if the circumstances of your DWI arrest allow you to qualify for a limited license, you must also prove the following in order to be eligible:

  • You require a license to be able to attend work or any post-secondary education program.
  • You require a license in order to continue providing food, medical care, and education to your family.
  • You require a license in order to attend any drug or alcohol dependency counseling programs.

Essentially, you need to not only meet the requirements via your actual DWI arrest, but you also need to have a clear reason to need to drive. For example, if you are unemployed and your spouse has the ability to drive, the court may not see it necessary to grant a limited license.

Violating a Limited License

A limited license in Minnesota after a DWI arrest is a privilege, not a right. It comes with several stipulations that dictate what you can and cannot do with a limited license. By violating any of these stipulations, you put yourself at risk for punishment.

Violations of the limited license program in Minnesota include:

  • Driving to areas outside of your limited license purview, such as driving to a bar instead of to your job.
  • Driving more than the assigned hours on your license. Most limited license have a maximum number of hours you can be on the road per week. Usually this will be a maximum of 60 hours per week. You will also be restricted to specific times you can drive as well.
  • Driving while intoxicated
  • Breaking traffic laws. Speeding tickets or other traffic violations may not mean immediate revocation of limited licenses, but it may be problematic if you received them while driving somewhere you were not supposed to be.

If you were caught in any of the above incidents, your limited license will be swiftly revoked for either 30 days or the remainder of your limited license period, whichever is longer. Obviously this can put a real damper on your average everyday life which is why the best way to avoid this is to not get a DWI conviction in the first place. Minnesota prosecutes DWIs with great vigor, but the right defense attorney can make sure you aren’t stuck with the consequences. If you are looking at a DWI conviction in Minnesota, then contact us today.

Disclaimer: The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individualsituation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.